Latin rite

All liturgical rites used by the Western Latin Church are referred to as the Latin Rite. Originally, it was known as the Roman rite, which then spread to the various Western countries, with the first bishop, the Pope, at the head. The Latin rites include: the Roman rite, the Ambrosian rite, the Anglican rite, the Mozarabic rite. The rites are different because they were formed in the different regions where the church spread.